Big Change

Posted: July 7, 2007 in Brawl, Dark, Fiction, Sci-Fi

Chapter 3

I couldn’t stop thinking about her. How long had she been watching? Was she just a freak who got off on blood? But here I am calling people freaks when I do exactly what they fantasize about. That wasn’t the point. The main thing going through my head was that she had seen the murder.
I cut across the street quickly and headed through a gap between two buildings to get to my apartment. I didn’t really want to go home, but considering that I had left a dead body in an alley with a witness, it seemed the most prudent thing to do.
I should have known better than to take a short cut in New York.
It seemed like a good idea at the time. Then again, most things seem like the right thing when you’re doing them, don’t they? It’s only afterwards that you have regrets.
The alley was too cold. I guess I should have taken the hint and moved on but I was a tad preoccupied with my thoughts. By now the full weight of what I have done is catching up to me. There was a dead man with the imprints of my fists embedded in him and it was out of my hands. I wasn’t going to change my identity. The only path apparent was jail. What would I do? I had never done anything so bad as to wind up in-
A click.
A hard object pressed into the base of my spine.
Heavy breathing. How had I missed it?
“Gimme your wallet and lay down on the ground.”
A harsh voice, with some kind of accent to it. Irish, I think.
“Didja hear me, boy? Get out your fucking wallet.”
I didn’t have my wallet. I brought nothing to the fights.
“I don’t have it on me.”
“Well, you better fuckin’ find it or I’ll blow your spine to pieces.”
“I really don’t have it! Look, you’re wasting your time, I don’t have anyth-”
BOOM.
He wasn’t a man for patience, I supposed…

Leave a Reply

