Bridge

Posted: July 18, 2007 in Life, Love, Non-Fiction

The deck was slippery, and yet we were running, the freedom of youth reminding us of the brevity of the good times. Naturally none of us slipped and the sea spray jetting into our faces simply increased the adrenaline flow.
Kim bounded ahead to the bow and grabbed onto the railing. The bridge spanning the fjord we were currently traversing was lit up with a rainbow fireworks display. Kim glanced back at us, her happy smile reflecting the bright structure ahead of us.
Our small group clustered at the head of the deck as the luminous bridge became larger as we approached it. The night was cold, and in the excitement to see the bridge many people had forgotten their jackets. Sarah shivered, teeth chattering, and pressed up against me.
I smiled in the dark and put my arm around her. Her shaking stopped, and I studied the lights as they crossed her face. She turned to meet my gaze. The ship slowly passed beneath the bridge, and I bent down, kissing her softly.
The resounding cheer that went up as we left the bridge behind startled Sarah and I. She shyly pulled away, and we walked hand-in-hand back to the ship.

Comments
  1. larkie says:

    yeah. I’m commenting this because anything more complex couldn’t hold my attention right now. sorry.

    “…the freedom of youth reminding us of the brevity of the good times. Naturally none of us…” four ‘of’s in a row, sounds a bit off. actually the fourth one i don’t mind, it’s a new sentence, but yeah i’d substitute one of the first three, or twist the wording, something. I have no idea what’s going on here but whether that’s your intention or my fault I can’t tell.

    however. I still liked it. Which is pretty inadequate for the ‘pros’ column, but there are more pros than cons, promise.

Leave a Reply

