Angel

Posted: August 24, 2007 in Beauty, Fiction, Imagery, Love

Turquoise.
There’s something about that color that gets me.
So calming, no matter who’s wearing it.
You remembered.
You wore that aquamarine dress I love so much, the one that highlights your eyes and turns them into something deeper, a vibrant shade of verdant malachite.
Even in the dark, you glow with a bright inner light. It takes my breath away, and I bend to your ear and whisper, making you giggle with delight. Your laugh is rich, a melodious harmony that is true music to my ears.
You turn to meet my gaze and a close embrace brings us together. Your lips are so soft, pink clouds brought to Earth for you, blue-green beauty, to wear.
Now it’s dawn. The time has slipped away from us like water in a sieve, leaking until nothing is left and you must leave me. You slip away with a long glance towards me, and I am alone.
Sun bursts into my room, luminous strips decorating my bedspread, bright turquoise…
I wake up.

You remembered.

Comments
  1. larkie says:

    I was going to comment even before you whined at me to. :] I’m so nice.

    There are some nice descriptions in here. “a vibrant shade of verdant malachite” [it’s even got alliteration! :0], “little bands of poetry,” “time has slipped away from us like water in a sieve”.

    But there were- I have to be critical for a second- parts that were extremely corny like woahh. Maybe it’s just me, but I’m pretty sure that most girls I know would laugh their asses off if a guy tried to whisper poetry in her ear. I don’t know, it’s not like you carry a book of that around in your head, it strikes me as overly sappy. Also- it’s extremely hard to get away with the words ‘my love’ unless you were dead before, um, 1920 or so. Because really.

    The ending makes me all D: Because it’s cute and then you’re all, aww, he’s just dreaming.

Leave a Reply

