Tent Apartment

Posted: August 27, 2007 in Brawl, Dark, Fiction, Sci-Fi

Chapter 11

My apartment.
The tent’s interior was a complete copy of my old apartment in Brooklyn.
How this had come to be, I had no idea. Someone was fucking with my head. They had to be. If not, my head was truly fucked and I was off the deep end.
Every detail, every little piece of detritus that I had tossed into the shitty one-room living space was in perfect order, just the way I had left it before the fateful fight and subsequent death that followed. The remains of my dinner, a crusty bowl with scraps of noodles still stuck to the inside. Macaroni and cheese. A comfort food. At the moment, however, it scared the shit out of me.
Everything- right down to the magazines and clothes on the floor– is the same. I don’t know what to do, so I sit down on the leather couch. I sink into it the same way I would’ve if I had been home.
“Cat, are you sure I have to stay here?”
“Is there something wrong?”
“Yeah, this is what my old apartment looked like. I mean, right down to the old dishes.”
Cat grinned, sharp teeth glinting in the stark light that issued from the naked bulb on the ceiling.
“Our resident tech monkey is Zariah. She designed all of the tents to adjust to each new owner’s preferences.”
“Preference? I hated that fucking apartment.”
“I can’t say I blame you. Well, talk to her tomorrow, she’ll fix it up. Interesting character, that girl.”
“Uh– all right.” This whole place was so weird.
“So!” Cat sat down next to me. “Want to hear the rest about me?”
“Oh.” Right. Cat’s life. “I’m feeling pretty burnt out from this whole day. Could we talk tomorrow?”
“Sure. If you need anything, use the computer to talk to us.”
“Us?”
“Like me, Lucy or Sol. Use the instant messenger.”
“Um…ok. Thanks.”
Cat smiled again and left. I stood up from the couch and threw myself onto the tiny bed.
Chicks with demonic eyes, Muses that controlled your dreams and read your thoughts, adaptive dwellings, and now instant messenging from a fucking tent. What was next? Leprechauns. I had no doubt.

Comments
  1. goodnightcat says:

    Haha, love the idea of the apartment as his tent, great chapter.

Leave a Reply

