Dark Passage

Posted: December 10, 2007 in Brawl, Dark, Fiction, Sci-Fi

Chapter 20

For a while, darkness is all that I see. I wonder if the portal is much like an elevator; all that’s missing is the corny music trickling in from tinny speakers.

“Keep holding my hand.” Sasha’s voice echoes as she pulls me along. My feet scrape on a solid surface below me and I follow blindly, relying solely on the woman before me.

We move quickly, footsteps echoing all around us. I reach out with my free hand, scraping against the rough surface to my left. I swing my hand right and make contact with sharp stone. We appear to be in some sort of tunnel. Though ‘where’ exactly we were in the world was unknown to me.

“Stop.” Sasha lets go of my hand and I am suspended in darkness, devoid of any form of sight. “Why is it so damn dark?”

“Um…the portal can blind people, did I not mention that?”

My blood runs cold and I can’t breathe.

“Just kidding, sweetie.” Bright orange light flares up in the darkness, revealing a plain stone passageway, a cheerful torch set into the wall, and Sasha’s grinning face as she slips a lighter in her pocket.

“That wasn’t funny!”

“Aw, honey, it’s just a joke. Can’t you take a joke?”

Her grin widens as she flicks hair back from her face.

“Who the fuck are you, anyway? Where am I?” This bullshit is starting to piss me off.

“I’m a Saint. Come on, we’ve got to help Cat and the others.” She begins to walk down the corridor.

Shit.

“Why didn’t you say you were a Saint?!”

Sasha turns back with a quizzical look on her face. “What’s the rush? There’s only about ten Officers, and they’re no match for four Saints.”

“No, no, NO! There’s fifteen more waiting to ambush them!”

Color drains from Sasha’s face and I see something new etched into her pretty features.

Fear.

She says nothing, simply turns and runs down the passageway, me following closely behind her.

Before long, the hard pounding of our running feet is joined by distant voices. We round a corner to find three figures walking through dim shadows, voices hushed and echoing.

“Sol!” Sasha screams the name as she stops, breathing heavily. Sol turns, fire in his gaze joined by confusion. By his side I notice Kylie and Zariah, both armed as heavily as Sasha.

“Sasha?” Sol’s questioning tone holds much more than a simple confirmation of identity.

“This guy…I found him in the Noir, Miur had him…” Her speech was hindered by ragged gasps of breath. “He says…Officers…Cat…ambush.”

A jangling of keys breaks the resulting silence. I turn to Kylie, who is busy shaking a thick ring of metal, searching for the right key. I notice the door behind the Saints and impatience reaches me before Kylie finds the key.

I move Sol aside and barrel towards the wooden door, crashing into it with a tackle that takes it off its hinges. Daylight floods into the dark corridor and I walk out to meet the sun. Off in the distance, the staccato bursts of gunfire faintly meet my ears.

“That was unnecessary,” remarks Sol dryly as he steps over the demolished door.

The three female Saints behind him charge ahead, running along the stone wall we found ourselves on with rapid pace towards the sounds of battle.

“Well then,” grins Sol, winking at me. “Let’s go save Cat’s ass.”

Comments
  1. larkie says:

    good job. it’s very action-tastic. i’m not exactly well versed in this type of writing but i like it a lot. =]

Leave a Reply

