Three openings in search of their bodies

Posted: June 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

It was for the precise reason of her overdeveloped sexuality that Daniel despised and lusted after the single female inhabitant of his English 103 class.

When the phone rang for the third time that evening, I was just coming out of a long nap, awoken by the shrill insistent ringing. I scrambled blearily for the small black buzzing monster.
“Hello?”
“HeyLukeit’smeineedhelpmovingabedgotthetime?”
“Uh…”
“Comeonbrotherijustneedyourhelpforalittlebitdon’tbeadick.”
“Okay?”
“ThanksbrotherI’llbeoversoon.”
Click, dial tone. I still don’t know what’s going on.

“There are noises, scratchings, always…always the sound of a body being dragged behind me when I walk.”
He’s got darting eyes, dark pupils wide-set with only a thin white saucer floating beneath. Eyes scrambling, looking for escape, for a route out of the room.
“Doors open, always open behind me. Front door will not lock sometimes. The walls moan.”
I look up, confused. “The walls moan?”
He nods vigorously, desperately. “Like woman at funeral. Chilling.”
Rubbing my eyes, I look at the old man in front of me in disbelief. “Mr. Pavlovich, I don’t understand why you want me to write all of this in your house description. It’s not very positive.”
“Is warning!” he protests. “No one must live here.”
I give him a patient smile. “Then why are you selling the house?”
“You know why! Ana, she forces my hand! I cannot deny say no to my devotchka.”
I take a deep breath and count to ten like my therapist has been telling me to do. I place the clipboard on the table and smile thinly at Pavlovich.
“Mr. Pavlovich, I’m going to come back after speaking with Miss Pavlovich, all right? Good day.”
He follows me as I maneuver around the sheet-covered furniture that litters the house.
“You must warn buyers! Tell them, walls moan! Like widows!” he protests, trying unsuccessfully to stop my determined stride.
“I understand, Mr. Pavlovich. I’ll get back to you tomorrow.” I say with a wan smile, opening and closing the door behind me before he can say anything else.
I take a deep breath and two Advil for the headache I can already feel brewing and ask myself why I’m a realtor for the thousandth time.

Leave a Reply

