Hung Over Sam’s Town

Posted: March 9, 2011 in Poetry

There are some times that I don’t feel free
amidst a crowd of those that call themselves my peers
and it’s starting to get to me.

Let’s be honest with ourselves for a moment:
not all of us will have star careers.
There are some times that I don’t feel free.

When we never mean what we meant,
no time to correct later in the years
and it’s starting to get to me.

When we can’t pay our rent
our heads are soaked in tears.
There are times that I don’t feel free.

All those applications we’ve sent
are completely drenched in our fears
and it’s starting to get to me.

From the first time your pants began to tent
to the last time you shift into the wrong gear;
There are some times that I don’t feel free,
and it’s starting to get to me.

Leave a Reply

